Cemetery Trustees Committee


  • 9:30 a.m.
  • First Monday of each month
  • City Hall, Conference Room A
    131 Church Street
    Belfast, ME 04915

Members: 5 Members & 1 Alternate/3 year Terms

  • Leigh Wilcox, Cemetery Superintendent - Staff Liaison
  • Joyce Fenner, Chair
    Term Expires: July 1, 2026
  • Joanna Curtis
    Term Expires: July 1, 2024
  • Paul Hamilton
    Term Expires: July 1, 2026
  • Megan Pinette, Secretary
    Term Expires: July 1, 2025
  • Amanda Munson
    Term Expires: July 1, 2026
  • Darrell Gilman, Alternate
    Term Expires: July 1, 2024

Mission Statement

The Belfast Cemetery Trustee Committee`s purpose is to advise the Belfast City Council, city manager and cemetery superintendent with respect to Belfast cemeteries related matters according to city and state statutes.

The Mission Statement for the Committee is to determine and implement strategies that protect, promote and preserve the beauty, dignity, historical and cultural values of our seven cemeteries and Grove Chapel to serve users now and into the future. We study social, economic and cultural trends and revise policies as appropriate.

To fulfill our mission, we recognize that the grounds of our cemeteries are sacredly devoted to the internment and memorialization of the honored dead. As a manifestation of respect and affection, which our community bestows upon those who are buried here, it is intended that our cemeteries be perpetually areas of quiet beauty and serenity-to beckon the living as well as to provide repose for the dead. Our heritage is enriched by the lives and deeds of the men and women who have preceded us. It is, also, our goal, as part of the remembrance of them, to maintain permanent records of those whose earthly remains have been entrusted to us.

To this end, we are pleased to be given the opportunity to perform these duties with the utmost respect and affection for our cemeteries and their historic integrity and to encourage appreciation and respect for their intended purpose.

Committee Membership

The committee membership shall be comprised of five members and one alternate, who all serve three-year terms.