Library Board of Trustees

Library Board of Trustees


  • Held on the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 10:00 AM
  • 3rd Floor Conference Room, Belfast Free Library

Members: 5 Members/3 Year Terms

  • Steve Norman, Library Director - Staff Contact
  • Sharon Jones
    Term Expires: July 1, 2026
  • Laura Baker
    Term Expires: July 1, 2025
  • Richard Swain - President
    Term Expires: July 1, 2025
  • Dorothy Havey
    Term Expires: July 1, 2025
  • Hadan Kauffman
    Term Expires: July 1, 2024

Committee Membership:

The Board of Trustees shall consist of five members. The five members shall be appointed by the Belfast City Council. Appointments shall be made for a three year term and Trustees may be re-appointed to one consecutive three year term.


The Board of Trustees of the Belfast Free Library shall have control of the Library and the buildings and the grounds. The Trustees shall make all needed rules and regulations for their own government, conformable with the City of Belfast Code of Ordinances Chapter 26, set the Library’s policy with respect to service, personnel and materials as well as the use of the Library by its patrons and all other requirements for proper library operation. The Trustees shall, having agreed on these policy objectives, put them in writing and make them available to the City government and the general public. The Trustees shall direct the expenditure and investment of Free Library funds, which consist of monies donated directly to the Library and other Library income. Other monies for library expenses will be contributed by the City of Belfast through the city budget process. All bills presented to the City Manager’s office for payment of expenses incurred in operating and maintaining the Belfast Free Library shall be signed by three of the Trustees. At the end of each fiscal year the Trustees shall make to the City Council a statement of their official acts and the financial condition of the library.