Transfer Station

Windshield Stickers

Windshield stickers are required to use the Transfer Station and must be purchased at the City Clerk’s Office on the lower level of City Hall or at the Transfer Station. You must bring your automobile registration. The cost for a windshield sticker is $2.

Pay As You Throw

The pay as you throw system costs $3.50 for each 30-gallon garbage sized bag and $5.50 for contractor bags.

Trash bag stickers can be purchased at the following locations:

  1. Belfast Variety @ 326 High Street Belfast, ME 04915
  2. Belfast Variety 52 @ 6 Back Belmont Road Belfast, ME 04915
  3. Jack's Grocery @ 15 High Street Belfast, ME 04915
  4. Wentworth Family Qwik Stop @ 142 Waldo Avenue Belfast, ME 04915
  5. Belfast Transfer Station @ 32 Little River Drive Belfast, ME 04915
  6. City Hall @ 131 Church Street Belfast, ME 04915

Transfer Station guidelines during the Pandemic

Transfer Station Brochure (PDF)

Guidelines during the Pandemic


Holiday Schedule 2021

The Transfer Station will be closed on the following additional dates to observe Holidays that otherwise fall on a date that the Transfer Station is already closed:

Martin Luther King Jr. Day observed Tuesday, January 19, 2021

Presidents Day observed Tuesday, February 16, 2021

Patriots Day observed Monday, April 19, 2021

Memorial Day observed Monday, May 31, 2021

Independence Day observed Monday, July 5, 2021

Labor Day observed Monday, September 6, 2021

Indigenous Peoples' Day observed Monday, October 11, 2021

Thanksgiving observed Thursday, November 25, 2021

Day After Thanksgiving observed Friday, November 26, 2021

Christmas Eve Friday, December 24, 2021, Closing at 1:00 p.m.

Christmas observed Saturday, December 25, 2021

New Years observed Saturday, January 1, 2022