Mayor & City Council

City Government

The City of Belfast is governed by a Mayor and City Council who are elected by the people of Belfast. The Mayor and City Council acting together are the governing body. All governing body members serve two-year terms. The governing body, being the elected representative of the people, adopts all ordinances and resolutions and determines the general goals and policies.

Belfast Council Ground Rules: Adopted October 2, 2018 (PDF)

Why does the City Council deliberate in Executive Session?

Belfast Council Letter Regarding Free Speech and Civility-February 2, 2021 (PDF)

City of Belfast Core Values Statement Adopted February 16, 2021 (PDF)

Council Members

Photo of Eric Sanders

Photo of Mary Mortier

Photo of Neal Harkness

Photo of Brenda Bonneville

Chris Bitely Photo 2

  • Christopher Bitely, Ward 4 Councilor
    • Term expiration: November 2025
    • 207-613-5358
    • Email:    

Photo of Paul Dean

Ward Map (PDF)


Any written correspondence for the Mayor or City Council can be dropped off or mailed to City Hall:

131 Church Street
Belfast, ME 04915